Sujet 20/21 1280x680 © Hermine Karigl-Wagenhofer© Hermine Karigl-Wagenhofer

Theater an der Wien: Before The Afterglow

The 2020/21 Season

The 2020/21 season is the fifteenth at the city of Vienna’s opera house.

In the coming season, the four-year programme cycle 4 phases of the day, introduced by director Roland Geyer in 2018, continues at the Theater an der Wien and the Kammeroper with its third part under the motto of de facto “before the afterglow”.

At the heart of the programme is a total of 13 premieres including 11 new productions of operas by Cavalli, Vivaldi, Mozart, Rossini, Donizetti, Wagner, Massenet, Leoncavallo, Gershwin and Prokofiev and a ballet by John Neumeier, plus revivals of our successful productions of Platée (Rameau) and Saul (Handel). Eight concert performances of operas by composers such as Porpora, Handel and Haydn, two semi-staged special projects and a revue in the “Hölle” round off the programme.

  • Theater an der Wien – Season Programme 20/21

« Back