Wiener Symphoniker sitzend © Stefan Olah
Ivor Bolton_Egmont_Eroica 2019/20 1280x680 © Ben Wright
Schauspielmusik (1810)
zu Johann Wolfgang von Goethes Trauerspiel Egmont
Music by Ludwwg van Beethoven
Symphonie Nr. 3 Es-Dur (1804/05)
I. Allegro con brio
II. Marcia funebre – Adagio assai
III. Scherzo – Allegro vivace – Trio
IV. Finale – Allegro molto – Poco andante – Presto

Samstag, 9. Mai 2020, 19:30 Uhr

Content / Background

To be a human being means to be free: all his life, Beethoven concerned himself with the topos of liberty: what it means for human beings and how important it is to us all. In Count Egmont, the eponymous protagonist in Goethe’s tragedy, Beethoven found his ideal freedom fighter. For a performance of the play at Vienna’s Burgtheater in  1810 he composed ten pieces of incidental music, even though the plot only required five. The most famous piece, indeed one of the most famous of all Beethoven’s pieces, is the overture. An equally renowned work, the subject of many anecdotes and also associated with the theme of freedom, is Beethoven’s 3rd Symphony, Eroica. The bulk of it was written in 1803, when Beethoven worked at Theater an der  Wien and was successfully developing his own musical style. On 7 April 1805 this famous symphony premiered – apart from a private performance for Prince Lobkowitz – in a musical academy on our stage.



Ivor Bolton


Marlis Petersen


Wiener Symphoniker