Anne_Frank_1280x680_1516 © beyond/André Sanchez

Igor Strawinski (1882-1971)
Suite L’HISTOIRE DU SOLDAT (1918/1920)

Grigori Frid (1915-2012)
Monoopera in four scences for soprano and chamber ensemble (1969/1999)
Libretto by Grigori Frid based on the diary from Anne Frank, German adaption: Ulrike Patow

Thursday, 10 September 2015,
7.30 until 9 pm


It´s a wonder I haven´t abandoned all my ideals, they seem so absurd and impractical. Yet I cling to them because I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are truly good at heart.
Anne Frank, diary entry, 15 July 1944

Emotional, passionate music that also evokes a sense of oppression lies at the heart of the 15/16 season’s opening concert. Igor Stravinsky’s score for L’histoire du soldat is not bound to the essence of the text; rather, it can also exist without it. The jazz elements it contains possess enormous power, and in the instrumental passages in particular Stravinsky raises a wide range of musical expectations in the listener, most of which he leaves unfulfilled, however. In contrast, Grigory Frid’s monoopera Das Tagebuch der Anne Frank takes a very specific form, adhering almost word for word to the famous diary it is based on. 21 brief episodes relate Anne Frank’s life beyond the period covered by the diary and form a musical-lyrical account. Frid – the hundredth anniversary of his birth falls in September this year – achieves a musical empathy with Frank’s soul, and evokes despair, fear and persecution as well as a fleeting ray of hope.



Leo Hussain

Anne Frank

Juliane Banse

Szenische Einrichtung

Reto Nickler


Wiener Virtuosen